Leibniz Prize Winners Announced

© Matej Kastelic/Shutterstock

The winners of Germany’s most prestigious scientific research award covering all fields of science have been announced. Awards will be given out at a ceremony in Berlin on March 13, 2019.

The latest round of winners of the most important research funding award in Germany have been selected. In Bonn on December 6, 2018, the joint committee of the German Research Foundation (DFG) awarded the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize 2019 to ten scientists. Prize winners included four women and six men. The selections were made from 122 proposals by the responsible selection committee. Of the ten prizewinners, three each come from the humanities, social sciences and life sciences, and two each from the natural sciences and engineering. The winners will each receive 2.5 million euros. The prizewinners can use these funds for their own research for up to seven years according to their own ideas and without further approval.

Recipients include:

  • Dr. Sami Haddadin, Robotics, Technical University of Munich
  • Dr. Rupert Huber, Experimental Physics, University of Regensburg
  • Dr. Andreas Reckwitz, Sociology, European University Viadrina, Frankfurt/Oder
  • Dr. Hans-Reimer Rodewald, Immunology, German Cancer Research Centre (DKFZ), Heidelberg
  • Dr. Melina Schuh, Cell Biology, Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry (Karl Friedrich Bonhoeffer Institute), Göttingen
  • Dr. Brenda Schulman, Biochemistry, Max Planck Institute for Biochemistry (MPIB), Martinsried
  • Dr. Ayelet Shachar, Law and Political Sciences, Max Planck Institute for the Study of Multireligious and Ethnic Societies, Göttingen
  • Dr. Michèle Tertilt, Economics, University of Mannheim
  • Dr. Wolfgang Wernsdorfer, Experimental Solid State Physics, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT)
  • Matthias Wessling, Chemical Process Engineering, Rheinisch-Westfälische Technische Hochschule Aachen and Leibniz Institute for Interactive Materials (DWI), Aachen

The Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize has been awarded annually by the DFG since 1986. Each year up to ten prizes can be awarded, each with a sum of 2.5 million euros. With the ten prizes for 2019, a total of 368 Leibniz Prizes have been awarded so far. Seven Leibniz Prize winners have also received the Nobel Prize.

More (in German) at: http://www.dfg.de/service/presse/pressemitteilungen/2018/pressemitteilung_nr_55/index.html